• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1078 4x4 non existent

Btwedel

Hi fellas, newbie here , I've got a 1997 m1078 that I got thru my local rangeland fire protection agency (rfpa) . I'm having trouble with the 4x4 on it . I've got no 4x4 , I turn the mode on and doesn't make a difference. If I put it in the mud it spins the rear wheels and also the front drive shaft does not turn ... we got these trucks from the military thru a grant and they have some of the goodies missing ... this truck does not have the ctis on it anymore ... it had relays mixed around so the alternator wouldn't charge. .. anyways enough expounding .. anyone have any info on the transfercase / 4x4 issue?

porkysplace

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Welcome to SS . Since this post is in the CUCV forum you might not get much help The correct forum for these is
[h=2]FMTV[/h]
Post up your Family of Medium Tactical Vehicles Q&A here.

If you don't already have them you can download the Technical Manuals here.

[h=3]M1078 TM's[/h]

waayfast

Hello,
Welcome to the site from Salmon River Country! Congrats on the new ride and while I know NOTHING about the new fangled m1078's there are plenty of knowledgeable folks on here that will be able to help.

This site is a great resource with great folks, oh yeah ---we gotta have pics!

Jim

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter
In Mode, the WTEC controller commands the transfer case interaxle differential to lock. This does not appear to be happening based on what you describe.

Suprman

Supporting Vendor
There is a connector on the transfer case, part of the transmission wire harness, that controls lock and unlock on the center diff. When you are not in mode and the rear is slipping you may not see power to the front and this can be normal.