• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M35 Esoterica

Ajax MD

That's Esoterica, not "Erotica." Get your brains out of the gutter.

I have an obscure question: Why do M35's have that crazy, dog-legged switch lever on the battery cutoff, rather than the standard switch lever that is on virtually every other electrical control on every M35 and early 5-ton truck? The long switch handle seems to interfere with the operation of the light switch.

See the attached photos to see what I mean.

Attachments

Gralmk

Steel Soldiers Supporter
2 things
1 does you power switch go all the way to cover the stop cable or does it stop short. If short then take handle off reposition a bit till it does.

2 dont believe lights work when the switch is off anyway!

Ajax MD

2 things
1 does you power switch go all the way to cover the stop cable or does it stop short. If short then take handle off reposition a bit till it does.

2 dont believe lights work when the switch is off anyway!
I don't have the crazy dog-leg switch, I was just curious as to its purpose. If the purpose is to intentionally interfere with other controls as sort of a safety interlock, that makes sense, but I wasn't sure that was the real reason for the crazy switch handle.

cattlerepairman

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I think it is designed to interfere with the engine stop handle. My ACC switch effectively blocks the STOP pullout from being operated until the ACC switch is turned off. I think that stopping the engine and accidentally leaving the ACC swith in the ON position was the cause of a great many Deuce low air buzzers screaming their little brains out in deserted motor pools until the batteries were empty.