• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M35a2 fuel cutoff rod springs back to firewall 5 o'clock position when cover removed

rockbronco

I'm a Brand new member please be kind if I posted wrong please educate me I'm still learning about this forum.

I am the proud owner of 1975 M35A2 with the Hercules 1D turbo multifuel engine, I have had the truck for about 9 months and it has always started and run flawlessly until recently.
The issue I am having is the truck runs great above 1000RPM but will not idle if I am not lightly feathering the gas pedal, also up until now I have never had to touch the gas pedal or throttle pull cable to start the truck , now the only way to start the truck is pedal to the floor as I crank it over and it starts immediately but will not hold idle as I said unless I lightly feather the gas pedal. (even after warmed up)
I removed the cover to the IP fuel cutoff rod and noticed the fuel cutoff rod springs back to firewall 5 o'clock position when cover removed, I can push it to the 7 o'clock position with very little effort but when i let go it returns to the 5 o'clock position on its own very quickly.
I have reviewed lots of posts on this forum and have viewed dozens of pictures of the injection pump with the cover removed and the lever seems to always be in the 6 or 7 o'clock position on working pumps.

What would cause the lever to return to the 5 o'clock position?

I have done the following work on the truck over the course of the last two weeks.

1.replaced all fuel filters (4 filters total, 1 on frame rail passenger side, 2 on engine last one was for intake flame starter)
2.checked lift pump(in tank) screen it is clear
3.checked lift pump preasure without engine running (stays between 5-7psi)