• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M35a2c questions

EulaVFD#620

Hi all,

I am new here, first off I do not currently own any MV's, but would like to. I am a firefighter/mechanic for the local volunteer fire department. We operate 2 m35's as heavy brush fire trucks, my background as a mechanic, is short, I am an aircraft Mechanic. I volunteer my services/skills to the fire department as everything breaks from time to time. Now on to my questions.

We have a m35 a2c with a LD-465-1 engine in it, current maximum speed with 800 gallons of water on it going down hill with the wind is 45 mph, is there any way to get more speed out of it, all the tech manuals, and even the placard inside the truck state it should be able to attain 56mph loaded, if you have any fixes for this, I would greatly appreciate the advice.

Next the same truck has a several holes in the radiator, does any one have a line on getting a radiator for this truck? the only requirement is it it should have no holes in it.

just as a note, it's not the M35 pictured in my avatar.

Thanks in advance for the help, all advice is appreciated.

EulaVFD#620

bugei

i would say that 45 for a water loaded duece is not so bad. 56 is "flying" for a duece, almost take off speed.

you could change the tires and effectlively increase your "overdrive", but these are barely 150 hp motors, so i am guessing you are not hitting the rev limiter.

if you think that you are not getting all there is out of the motor, you should check all your fuel filters, and might want to look at the threads on turning up the ip's. but 45 sounds close to all the money to me.