• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M38A1 Harness for Civilian Jeep

plym49

I hope that this post is not off topic for this forum.

My DD is a 1990 civilian YJ Jeep. The stock lighting wiring harness is showing its age as well as indignities wrought by prior owners. I am a bug about good wiring; this 20-year old wiring is just not aging well, and on its best day it was not as durable and water-resistant as a military-spec harness.

I look at the harness and connectors on my 40-year old Deuce, and my Jeep is hopelessly behind. And so an idea formed, and as I am not an expert on the M38 vehicles, I thought I would poll you experts on whether it might be feasible.

I am thinking about using the wiring harness for an M38 series for my lights. This would include the use of military connectors. I would replace my taillights with military units. I would install the correct military three lever light switch. I would either retain the stock front parking lights, adding military connectors, or replace them with military units. I would wire into the dash lights, and I would retain the blackout lights.

It is no problem for me to wire this in to the vehicles remaining electrical system. This is a carb'd vehicle; in any event I am proficient with vehicle wiring.

My biggest question is whether the M38-series harness will reach to the four corners of my YJ Jeep. It would not make sense for me to do this if I had to lengthen the harness. If the M38 harness is a little long in places, I can neatly dress the extra length easily enough.

I assume that the M38 is the closest dimension-wise to the tub of my YJ. If that is an incorrect assumption, then what would be the correct military vehicle to use as a donor?