• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M52A2 (LDT 465-1A) engine question

rcflyer70

Please forgive me if this is a dumb question but I have very little experience with diesel engines (I've owned an Reo M35 gasser for 17 years) - I recently changed the oil in my M52A2 and took the truck on a short drive. Upon returning, I checked the oil to ensure the level was correct and it was black as night. The motor kicks out alot of black exhaust when idling or going down the road. I haven't noticed any specific issues with the truck - awesome power and it starts and idles fine. Do I have an issue or is this normal? Thanks for any help

Brian

m16ty

Steel Soldiers Supporter
On just about any diesel, you can change the oil and it will go from clear to black in short order. No need to worry about that.

papabear

GA Mafia Imperial 1SG
I would not worry about the black oil...that's the nature of the diesel.
I would however keep an eye on the oil level and viscosity just to be sure there's not a little diesel getting in the oil.
Troy's M52A2 smokes a little as well while idling or under heavy load...I'd call that pretty normal.[thumbzup]

Squirt-Truck

Master Chief
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Rcflyer,
Yep they will turn the oil black almost immediately. By the way it is an LDS465-1A not an LDT. Check out the thread on the differences, a lot of good information coming out in that.

For some reason it seems most of the LDS engines do smoke much more than the LDT's. Off idle it should clean-up except under heavy load.

Ord22