• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M54a2 air service and emergency

sidewinder

I am a NEWBIE and just got a 5 ton m54a2
I did not get a manual as yet and wanted to activate the service air on passenger side front. How is this done as there is no air valves that I can see with out crawling under truck. I need service air for inflation.Truck air is up to 120 lbs but not air in front. There is no hand halve there so I assume the is a valve somewhere else. The air horn on driver side has a valve but no air comes out when opened.

Westech

CPL
I would get the manual ASAP!!!! Your going to need it. there should be shut off valves just under the front bumper or right behind the valve. take a look. and as for the no air at the horn? that dont make very much sense, that should be a straight shot. But trace the lines back and look.

sidewinder

I could not be using the correct terminology on the sir horn. I am referring to the coupling that the air hoses hook up to just behind bumper and on the front of fenders.

Jake0147

RE: Manual for M54a2

you shouldn't need "service air" for inflation. That line is only charged when the brakes are applied. The emergency air line is the one that's charged all the time and is used as a handy air source. It's been talked about quite a bit for another reason, if I remember correctly, the front service line should have a vented dummy cover and no shutoff valve, the emergency line to the front does have a shutoff valve. Is your air hose long enough to go to the rear of the truck? those both have a shoutoff valve,are very easy to find. Only the emergency line will have air when you open the valve.

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
RE: Manual for M54a2