• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M929 Dump trucks with increased capacity prototype bed?

Jbulach

Steel Soldiers Supporter
A loaded 740 is about 2-1/2 times my weight loaded. I’d bet a dollar the 740 has at least 2-1/2 times the rubber on the ground. If you looking at a job and comparing a 740 to a couple of 5tons, thats like comparing a shot glass full of sea monkeys to a gorilla. As far as abuse, overloading/overheating I’ll take the Cat any day.
If you want to give these trucks a try, I think someone has a bunch of 929’s in the classifieds here, or check C&C Equipment out of Nashville, IN. He always has a bunch of 5 tons with big commercial beds on them, or M916 or M917 that may suit your work better.

tobyS

well ok
thanks i am new to this
i do know about over loading example: brand new 40 ton caterpillar 740's that are 40 tons
we had a coal mine job i was a sub to a big outfit they had all new stuff well there 740 were constantly over heating the trans and the trucks had to sit for a few minutes to cool then go again we were in Illinois dirt. heavy wet topsoil and high moist yellow clay so many deep ruts the dozers got a work out for sure.
the cat engineers from Peoria were always coming ad going it was a big job 26 haul trucks and more well a 5110 cat Exc. was loading it had a 10 yd bucket
the problem was the weight of material they were over loading the trucks.
Cat set up a scale and started to weigh them way over loaded for the rated capacity.
Back to those Rock beds are they available some where in Indianappolis
they would still be nice to have for that rock job there is enough money in the bid to purchase 2 of those beds 2 trucks would do the job not a lot of room for the big construction trucks on this job site.