• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M936A2 Brake Performance Help Needed

Speedzilla

Hey Guys,

Trying to help a friend diagnose some brake performance issues with his M936A2. I have no experience with wrecker variants of the M939 series, so I don't know exactly what they should feel like, but they seem weak. The truck has non-functional ABS, and it is rare that the tires will bark/skid at all under full braking.

I was first wondering if anyone with an M936 could chime in on the braking performance compared to either a M939 Cargo, or an M809 wrecker. I want to make sure I am not expecting too much out of the truck.

Second I was wondering if there were any common points of failure that would result in low pressure in the braking system. Tank pressure is good on the truck, and the brakes have been properly adjusted. We haven't put a gauge on the cans to see what the input pressure is yet, need to gather some different fittings for that.

Thanks!

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
My M819 will lock all the wheels at any speed, quite easily.

edited for correctness

Last edited:

Monkeyboyarmy

My 936A2 is the same way. I have to apply significantly more pressure to get it to stop compared to any other air brake truck. The M923's that I have driven apply pretty heavy brake pressure with very little peddle pressure. I have not tried to diagnose the wrecker yet but my thoughts would be the treddle valve. I'll have to disagree with you this time Doghead. The more peddle pressure, the more air pressure to the brake chamber for service brakes.

Suprman

Supporting Vendor