• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M939 series rear axle seals

nf6x

Feral Engineer
My M936A1 arrived with a nearly flat rear tire. Thanks to the resulting slope of the axle, it was also leaking gear oil where the axle flange bolts to the hub. It is still dripping with the tire inflated, but it's parked on a slight side slope at the moment. I'll move the truck this weekend.

I'm studying the TMs to figure out what parts I need to order before I get in there, and there's one thing that is not clear to me from the TMs. The -24P does not appear to show an oil seal around the shaft of the axle. I have had leaking front axles on my deuces, and I recall them having inner seals around the axle shafts, but it's been too long since I've worked on a rear axle and I don't remember what is in there. One of the deuce axle seals I replaced really frustrated me until somebody told me the trick of pounding it out with a long bar from the other side of the truck. That worked like a charm.

Should there be an oil seal around the axle shaft, or is the gasket/RTV under the axle flange the only thing keeping oil inside when the axle isn't level?

I plan to service the bearings since their grease may be contaminated with oil, and I'll order new bearing seals before I dig in there. I'm just not sure whether I will also need a third seal to go around the axle shaft. Thanks in advance for the small clue that I'm missing.

M35A2-AZ

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Nf6x, There is not a inter axle seal like the fronts.
All there is a inter and outer seal that fit on the wheel drum.
Not to bad of a fix, just heavy parts!!

nf6x

Feral Engineer