• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Magnetic Start Relay

olverama

Disclaimer… I did search. I am not a mechanic and therefore may not have be looking for the appropriate info while doing so.
With that out of the way… here’s the simplified version….Upon recovery of my Deuce, we threw 2 batteries in and started it up. Drove about 2 hours and stopped for fuel. When we attempted to start it back up… Nothing. After a 18 wheeler push/pull started us we were on our way. 2 ½ hours later we made it home.
We tested the batteries they were low… recharged…
Still nothing… pulled the starter and had it rebuilt… still nothing
Check batteries again still slightly low, then replaced.
Still nothing… got out the TM’s.. did trouble shooting and decided that it was the magnetic start relay.
Ordered a “known good” used one from Eastern surplus and installed… still nothing.
Trouble shot again and diagnosed it again as a bad magnetic start relay.
This is where I’m at now…

Here are a couple questions. (Again… not mechanically inclined!)
1. Can you “bench/ground/floor” test the relay? In my non mechanical brain, I feel that I should be able to pull the relay and while off the vehicle, use a pair of jumper cables off the battery (the positive connected to battery 1 and the negative connected to battery 2 (24v right?) and connect the other positive end of the cable to the terminal on the bottom of the relay. At this point, once I connect the negative to the post on the top I should get a “click” or “vibration” that the TM talks about right?
The way I’m looking at this by touching the ground/neg on the top of the relay that would be the same as me pressing the start button right? I just want to completely verify that I’ve got another bad relay.