• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Main start switch dead Mep-802

Ranger Danger

I've been using my MEP-802 for my off grid property for about 3 years. Its been great! Ran the gen for about 10 hours about 2 weeks ago to charge the RV batteries, watch TV etc. Went back to the property about 1 week later to find the main start switch dead (no clicking no lights no nothing). I was thinking dead batteries as a first step. Pulled both batteries to find a full charge and load tested good. Time for a head scratch. Went to the bypass start switch in the engine compartment and motor turns over great but no start even with main start switch in run position. Checked the fuel to find an empty tank. I have an external 100 gallon tank (with 50+ gallons in it) but both my wife and I occasionally forget to put start switch in aux tank setting. Never ran out before. I refilled the primary tank. The main start switch is still dead (no clicking no lights no nothing). I suspect that I will have to reprime the motor but shouldn't the main start switch be powering up? Also, is the starter 12V or 24V? I'm running 2 12V Napa gold batteries. I want to be sure the batteries got put back in correctly (series or parallel).

Can I connect the aux tank line to the line out of the main tank to bypass the main fuel tank so as to not run out of fuel again or is there a low fuel shutoff sensor in the main tank preventing this?

Zed254

24 volt system. Check TM to confirm battery wiring is correct. Dead Crank functioning implies proper battery connection. Did you fill tank with Aux fuel pump - it is 24 volts? You should hear the main fuel pump come on when you put Master Switch in Prime/Run position: any sound? Is your generator rodent proof?

Last edited: