• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Making my Deuce into a Van

uriss

From the couple of requests, one asking for more pictures and details, well here goes. I am no expert carpenter but have worked on a few wooden boats in my day. That is important for the reason that my cargo box still has a few bends in the body. That would probably drive any Carpenter nuts trying to "square" corners up. To rehash a lil of my last post, I had wanted a van body. Those that I bid on were a bit over what I could afford. I noticed though that those bodies were already in various stages of wood rot and decay. I figured out the cost and since I wanted a little more room built my own. Started by using a drill with a wire brush to clean all the hard to get to rust. Then switched to a disc sander to clean up the rusty flat spots. Gave the whole inside of the bed a good coat of the rust paint with fishoil already mixed in. (I find that brand works best even many years down the road on other projects the rust didn't come back) Next I figured my height inside and kept it around eighty inches. From there I cut two by fours to fit the stake holes in the cargo bed. As you will see in the pictures I then doubled every board. At the base of the addition there is about a one inch or so over hang. That will have some foam insulation sheeting cut to fit the cargo bed sides and with the rest of the inside wall insulated have quarter inch luan over it. As I progress (hopefully this weather will clear) I shall update the build. Side note. I am putting it together using a nail gun but a neccessary addition of going back and screwing together all the nailed areas. Like a boat this body moves around and the screws make a better job of keeping it together. Some good exterior