• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Manual Glow Plug Switch

The Baron

http://www.steelsoldiers.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=445122&d=1367612151

Hey guys I have a 1984 M1009. I have the Delco 60gs and I wanted to make the manual conversion so that I could heat them up a little longer like they need. I'm no electrician and don't want to make a stupid mistake that would fry my truck, but looking at this diagram it looks like all I have to do is put a wire to the glow plug relay, to 30 amp switch, and then simply ground it. Is that really all I have to do? Also where would be a good spot to ground it?

Warthog

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Correct.

All you need to do is "add" a wire to the small light blue wire, include a switch and then attach the wire to ground.

Push the button, gounding the relay coil and the GPs energize.

You can ground the wire anywhere. There is a 6 legged ground connector next to the parking brake.

If you are using the 60s, I would recommend that you remove the BIG resistor pack and rewire the the power supply to the GP relay from the stock 24v to 12v.

Last edited:

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
A 10 amp switch is more than enough and a 20 amp pushbutton is overkill.

doghead

Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
You can also just wait 5 extra seconds after your wait light goes out or turn the ignition swith back off and on again to cylcle them twice.

I've never needed to manually control the AC60Gs in my truck.

doghead

Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
They just don't heat until they are destroyed.

You can manually power them on and certainly hold them on longer than the controller does.