• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

mechanical fuel pump removal on 6.2L

MDM1008

I am new to CUCV's, please bear with me.
Just bought a M1008 from a guy who did a bunch of "work" on it. He installed an electric fuel pump and bypassed the mechanical pump. My questions are as follows:
-Should I remove the mechanical pump? Would I need a block off plate?
-Should I remove the pushrod? and use the old pump as a block off plate
-Do I need a pressure regulator or relief valve on the fuel line? ( no idea what psi the pump is putting out. how much pressure is too much? )
-I can find a block off plate locally for a small block chevy, but nothing else. will it fit?

Thanks for any and all help.

GPrez

Hey neighbor! I bypassed my mechanical a couple years ago for an electric and left the mechanical pump in place. I do intend to remove mine and install a blank off plate just have not gotten around to it yet. I don't think you need a pressure relief valve unless the electric pump is for something other than diesel fuel delivery. I'm going off of memory but I think the PSI is around 4 to 6 on the diesel fuel pump.

I believe the chevy blank off is the same for all the mechanical pumps. Good luck.

Last edited:

K9Vic

-Should I remove the mechanical pump? Would I need a block off plate?

Yes remove it, Chevy 350 V8 block off plate from any auto parts store. Unfortunately it is chrome.

-Should I remove the pushrod? and use the old pump as a block off plate

Yes, you have to remove it it you block it off

-Do I need a pressure regulator or relief valve on the fuel line? ( no idea what psi the pump is putting out. how much pressure is too much? )

No, as long as the fuel pump is not over I think 8-10 psi.