• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

MEP-002A and -003A WIKI Started

PeterD

The rated output on the Wiki is the same for both, and should be different since the 003 variant does produce more power. (The MEP-003 numbers seem incorrect?)

But... Fantastic job even with a few minor problems. (and being a writer I appreciate how difficult it is to get everything right the first time!)

Speddmon

Blind squirrel rehabiltator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Very nice and informative. I was impressed to see the link to tpub with the parts interchange listing. I had never seen that one before (While it is wrong in a place or two, and NOT your fault), It's still good information to have.

Speddmon

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
There is a problem with the WIKI FAQ section I noticed...

[QUOTE="MEP 002a and 003a WIKI]
  • Can I get 480VAC three phase out of this?
Short Answer: NO
Long Answer: The generator head is a 12 lead. Therefore, theoritically you could re-wire it for 480. You would also need to re-wire the voltage regulator. I don't think you will find much help here for that. After the conversion, it would no longer be a MEP.[/QUOTE]

The generator head on the MEP-002a and 003a is indeed a 12 lead head, but the coils are wound to be 120 volt coils each....that's how you get the 120/208 volts 3 phase configuration and the 120 volts only....two coils from each phase are hooked up in parallel. with re-configuring the generator head the most you could get out of that head would be 240 volts 3 phase Delta. As it is from the factory, the most you can get is the 120/208 3 phase wye or 120/240 volts single phase. There is no way you could get a higher voltage from it without some MAJOR re-engineering.

Isaac-1