• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

MEP 002A not starting

trdshowal

Hello All, newbie here, I got a mep002a, changed all filters, the replacements are 1/4" shorter will that be a sealing problem ? I'm missing 1 centering mount for filter, fuel isn't filling the filter bowls up (flushed tank & lines)cleaned out pump filters in base also so thinking the fuel pump isn't working properly, it clicks at a slow pace as the aux pump is quick at first then slows any advice ? or anyone know where to get a new replacement ? also need an air hose off the air cleaner. Thanks

Last edited:

Isaac-1

A couple of things here, first the fuel pumps have a removable base with a cleanable strainer inside (replacement strainers are available also) check to make sure it is not clogged up (the end should have a place to turn with a wrench it comes off kind of line a child proof medicine bottle twist lid). It sounds like yours is working right, fast clicking until it builds pressure, then slow clicking, If you need to replace them as was mentioned in another message thread last night the electric fuel pumps on these generators are Facet Purrolator Gold-Flo pumps with a special military plug, if you don't care about staying original these pumps are available at many auto parts stores such as NAPA, just make sure to order the correct 24V variety and splice on the plug. (these pumps are also very popular for marine and industrial engine application where 24V is more common)

Ike

p.s. are you leaving a downstream connection open to let the air out when trying to get the fuel pump to fill the filters? With diesels it is very important to bleed all air out of the system all the way to the injectors.

Last edited:

trdshowal