• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

mep-002a Problem

kymedic4296p

Hello folks! I am desperate for help with my gen set. I have never had a problem with this unit until i really needed it this evening. when i connected the batteries there was absolutely no dc voltage. just a little background on how i have this unit setup. i have it connected directly to the main wires under the main breaker to my shop, therefore it it always electrified from the pole.I do not have it ran into a breaker. I was in a hurry to get it hooked up originally and haven't had a chance to hook it up correctly. anyway,When i want to run the genset i kick the breaker off. Have i done something to the genset? I apologize for my ignorance.. i am new to military equipment. :-?

derf

You need to stop immediately and get some professional help before someone gets hurt.

Generator power and power company power do not mix.

Have an electrician come out and disconnect whatever isn't right and make recommendations on the proper way to install a generator.

Ken_86gt

Well, the way you connected it does not have anything to do with the DC power. I would start troubleshooting the DC power issue, maybe the batteries are dead?

kymedic4296p

derf, i do understand that i have it hooked up wrong, however that is not the issue. when i use the unit i shut the breaker off to keep from back feeding into the grid.

kymedic4296p

Ken_86gt thank you for the reply.. i know nothing about these units.. if you could offer more advice about testing .. i would greatly appreciate it. the batteries are at full charge. the unit has no dc power at all. Thanks again.

amolaver