• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

MEP-004 questions

Meinlein

I have got an MEP-004 that I acquired from a salvage yard. With a little bit of work - filters/injector pump - the thing runs great now.

I applied Sewerzuks 3-phase to single phase conversion, and that worked perfect.

I am not a diesel mechanic - I am figuring this stuff out as problems arise.

The purpose of this generator is as a whole-house backup for use when inclement weather, such as a blizzard or hurricane may knock out grid power for days at a time.

With that said I have some questions for those of you operating these units.

- I live in the northeast US, where temps in the winter go below freezing for months and subzero some years for a month or two as well. The unit I have has does not have any winterization kit. I have had it suggested to me to mix a small amount of kerosene into the fuel. I'd like to know what do people here use to keep the fuel from gelling up in the tank and lines?

- There are some general cosmetic parts I would like to fix on this unit. Specifically right now I am looking at the control panel lamps (the three along the top of the panel) and 2-3 door latches.
The TM doesn't specify (that I could find) part numbers or anything for these parts. I thought I should ask here before I go to someplace like Delks for parts that I could probably get many other places if I knew what to ask for.

- I am considering using heating oil, off-road diesel, and regular diesel as fuel at different times as price and convenience dictate. Are there any problems with any of these fuels in this mep? I've been reading about ULSD but I still don't have a good handle on what the reality is as it concerns these units.