• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

MEP-016D new owner question

boltbucket

I'm new to the MEP owners club as I just got a MEP-016D. Generator tag says made 10-77. Re engine tag reads 01-03. Have not had time to do much with it but using a volt meter it shows around 320 volts on the plugins no matter if the inside switch set on 120 or 240 with out the unit being grounded. The machine's volt meter is showing nothing while the hertz meter is reading 60. Guessing voltage regulator but don't know much about these generators other than what I have goggled. Any help would be appreciated.

CARNAC

The Envelope Please.
Supporting Vendor
Find the TM. You have to use the 016A and then there is a 016D supplement but it's harder to find on the web. I have the manuals but they're on my computer that crashed.

The 016D is a re-engined 016A. They changed the engine from a gas to a diesel. Ensure the machine is properly grounded.

I gotta say with all of these floating around out there, for a safety standpoint, we should do a proper operation and maintenance video for youtube.

Isaac-1

Control box issues seem to be common these, lots of 40 year old wiring, that seems to have been mostly ignored when they had the Yanmar diesels retrofitted. So it may just be a loose wire, or bad gauge, if turn out to be a bad voltage regulator you can drop in a modern SX-460 clone for about $75, I did it on mine, there is a thread around here somewhere that includes photos.

Ike

boltbucket