• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

MEP 701 VR2 wires

The_New_Guy

Okay. I'm going to be up front here with the hope it provides context for the help I am looking for and not a bunch of rediculous comments suggesting I shouldn't even own a MEP. Thank you in advance.
I am not an electrician or engineer. I don't have any years of service and only own one piece of milsurp equipment. I am, however, reasonably handy and a long time reader of steelsoldiers and I think you guys are pretty great.
Here in South Dakota, we tend to get winter storms that knock out power for hours to days to weeks. I have been using a MEP701A in 120v 1ph to run the household essentials for a number of years. During the spring oil change and test run, I noticed the voltage would creep up continuously. So, I opened the panel to start poking around for any obvious issues. Once inside, I noticed a wire that burned the sheathing off and damaged the sheathing on two other wires. The burned wire goes from the part labeled A1-VR2 and I believe is wire labeled A1-TB2-9. The diagram seems to show this as a - not a + wire.
So, here is where I think I am at:
1. I think I need a new VR and will swap in a SX460 clone.
2. Is the VR2 likely fried? Only the VR2 or both?
3. What the hell does the VR2 do and do I need it if I swap to SX460?
4. Clear diagrams and/or descriptions are appreciated.
Open to anything helpful.
Thanks!

Attachments

The_New_Guy

Thanks. I think it is a 16B in an ASK and I do have the TMs for it. Unless I missed it, the TM doesn't really state what role the VR2/alternator(?) fills.
Do you have any thoughts why that wire out of it would have burned up?
Thanks.

peapvp

Steel Soldiers Supporter