• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

MEP 803A possible alternator issues

FireDogz

Ok so maybe not possible. I have a MEP 803 A mounted on my 1984 CF Mack Firetruck which has been converted to a food truck. I have been running the gen for about 7 months with no issues. My batteries are now dead. I charged them and started the Gen but when I went to close the circuit for power I got nothing. If the alternator is dead will that cause the circuit close to not work? No warning lights are on. Am i missing something? PLEASE HELP!!! I have fans of my food that need FireDogz!!

Thnks

jamawieb

I do not know 100% but the control circuitry for the interrupter is controlled with the 24 volt DC system. So it could cause the problem. Are you getting any fault indicators?

Daybreak

2 Star Admiral
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Howdy,
OK, you have
MEP-803A that has been working.
Your batteries were dead... Did you shut the generator down? turned off the panel lights? Something drained the batteries, or you have a problem with the 24 charging for the batteries.

OK, you charged the batteries. You were able to start it like normal then, you closed the "AC Circuit Interrupter" like normal and you have no power output. Did you run through the start up procedures? check the fault test lamps, check the lamps above the ac circuit interrupter and the battle short. After the unit starts, do you see the battery charge gauge over in the green slowly move back to 0 ?

Have you opened the front panel and checked the circuit breakers?

When you close the AC Circuit Interrupter, do you see the green light blink, any movement across any gauge? do you have any power at the convenience outlets?

Guyfang

Staff member