• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

MEP803a Rough Idle

hooligan327

First, I wanted to say thanks to all those who selflessly contribute their knowledge here. I'm pretty new to owning/operating one of these machines. I've had the genset for a couple years at this point but I just recently started using it to charge our off grid battery bank. It's been working pretty well. I have been charging our batteries at 10k watts which from what I've gathered is an appropriate amount of power to pull from this machine to avoid wet stacking issues. Recently it's been running rough when there's no load applied. This is especially true during cool down, but also happens sometimes at start up. The genset is outside and it's been cold. The genset is equipped with a hydronic coolant heater. When it's cold I run the heater for a couple of hours before I start the generator, usually the coolant is around 150 degrees when I start it. I keep the batteries plugged into the onboard battery tender when it's cold as well. I'll attach a link to a video of it running without a load. I would be interested in hearing thoughts on what might be going on here. Thank you in advance. https://www.youtube.com/shorts/BK1sCRliTNs

hooligan327

Changing out the fuel /water separator is on the list for today. It's currently -10 out there so I'm hoping it warms up a bit. I haven't changed it since I've owned it. I was told that it was new when I bought it. The fuel is filtered twice before it gets to the machine. I wasn't able to buy the cartridge fuel filter locally so I have to order it.

hooligan327

Well you might want to check your input feed lines for ice buildup too, especially when you note the issue often occurs with cold starts too.