• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

MEP806 help

draymorris

RPM's good But not showing on panel meter, Unit will not produce correct voltage - about 25v (set on 208) an slowly goes up to 100v with switch in start position after running. Followed manual instructions and tested the "droop transformer" by making a quick brine load bank - the test showed only .2A ac produced by transformer - if I tested correctly. When the manual says to make 10 passes with 10ga wire - can I just wrap it around the coil (and of coarse thru the window) 10 times or does that make for a bad test by creating some kind of inductor?
Any thoughts on the test and or the problem is appreciated

SandBar

Full Time Patriot
I am a novice in generators however this has the hallmark of a bad voltage regulator from my limited experience. I just picked up a 806a myself and waiting on fluids and filters to see what condition she is in.

draymorris

806A
I found wire to Freq select sw on terminal 3 disconnected (looked like is came loose). Went ahead and put it back on. And re installed droop CT. Same results.
Potential transformer gets very hot when I flashed with the start switch for about 5 seconds - hot enough to start smelling. Using my thermal camera it looks like one side of the windings gets way hotter than the other. Assuming this could be a symptom or the problem but I need more education to know what to test.
Will look at the file you sent and keep studying. Any input is welcome.

draymorris

Guyfang - I got an email saying that you responded when I checked my mail this morning - but when I open the thread it is not there. Still.