• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Metro Detroit Mechanic Needed

pmorin42

Hello everybody, my name is Phillip. I am very impressed with the amount of information available on this website. Thank you for managing this community.

I am new to the world of CUCV ownership. I have recently purchased a 1984 M1008. It is a good solid truck, but it is not perfect. My concern is that Michigan has harsh winters. I would like to start preparing this truck to endure the elements. I do not have the time for trial and error though.

Does anybody know where I can find a trustworthy and experienced mechanic in the Metro Detroit Area that is willing to perform the work that is necessary? If this is not the correct forum, please let me know where I should post this.

Thank you

stationjj

Yea, I understand your concerns. I live in Nashville TN. I try an do what I can with my CUCV. Sometimes I need help beyond my knowledge and shop space.

I suggest you do some research concerning diesel shops in your area. Call them up or visit and figure out what they will do.

It took me some time, but I have a list of shops if needed for the CUCV. I found most diesel shops don't want to deal with some small older 6.2 in a truck.
I had several turn me away. I found one that would do strictly engine work. Finally I found a shop that will do work most any work beyond engine.

The CUCV is a odd beast. Most shops don't understand it. They want some computer to plug into to diag problem.

cucvrus