• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Military identification painted on vehicle. Illegal or okay?

Sgthoffer

I am new to this. Does anyone know and if it is okay to paint a unit number on a vehicle? Is it illegal or okay to do? I want to paint the unit that I was in the military with on the vehicle (the unit is retired now) but I have searched over the internet and I am probably just typing in the wrong things in the search box but I cannot find an answer.

I want to put 101st ABN DIV on the front left side of my LMTV, and then B. Co. 3/502nd INF on the drivers side.. I just want to make sure it is legal to do so.

Scott

snowtrac nome

I don't think there is a problem if I ever got a duce the first thing painted on it would be 8th mp bde 772 mp 142 p-4 just llike my duce I had as a young private.

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Hundreds of military vehicles in collectors' possession have been restored with full unit markings. No laws against doing so.

aleigh

Legal. 1st amendment baby. Just like you can walk around in an army uniform if you want. You start to run afoul of the law if you misrepresent yourself in order to gain some form of a benefit - like you get pulled over but claim you are army and not subject to that speeding ticket, etc.

CMPPhil

Hi Scott

Fair question, I have a feeling that there is no single answer, to your question. It is very common to see MVs with detailed and meticulously researched military and unit markings on them. In some states you can even operate your truck with just the military numbers displayed (as long as the truck is registered and you have the plate with you). While attempting to pass your vehicle off as Military to avoid having it inspected will might drop you in hot water.