• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

More Power In a M936A2

nate_o23

Hello all, I am a mechanic in the Army, currently stationed in Iraq. We have a M936A2 with the CTA that is a total dog! We also have an older M923 with the natually asperiated NC 250 and it has more power! The 923 even has the armored cab and turret and it still has more power. Anyone know any tricks or tips to turn up the power on a CTA?? Is there a way to turn up the IP?? Injectors out of a different vehicle?? (like on the HEMMT you can swap injectors out of a M109 for mor power) Anything to get some more power!

steelsoldiers

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
It's the 8.3 CTA Cummins. I know a company called TST performance sells injectors for the 8.3. There are some other performance companies out there since that engine is widely used in trucks, buses, RV's etc... There are adjustments that can be made to the injection pump, but with a truck that big and heavy I would go tinkering with the fuel without an EGT gauge. Is everything OK with the engine? Excessive smoke or oil consumption? Hard starting?

A stock 936A2 weighs in around 37k where a stock 923 weighs around 21.6k so even with the armored cab it may still be about 8k lbs lighter.

jeli

I'm sure you are aware but 8.3's eat fuel filters in the dust. We were changing them daily in Guatamala. You're also probably running JP8 so depending on how long the truck's been in country any sludge from running #2 will be cleaned out by the JP8. I was about to say who cares about EGT's in your case but JP8 runs hotter anyway so you may want to make sure if you can turn up the pump you don't get too wild. Hate to go down in the middle of a convoy.

nate_o23