• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

My M1009 Restoration Thread

67_C-30

I have been driving this truck daily for several months and since my summer side business is about played out for the year, I'm going to freshen it up. Right after I bought it, serviced all fluids, replaced the batteries, replaced mirrors, replaced a faulty blackout light, and got all the dash lights working. Everything is functional and it is mechanically sound, and I've put over 3000 miles on it last 3 months.

The plan is to do a practical frame-on restoration. I am going to stay as close to stock as possible. I am going with the old pattern Woodland camo and I am going to use the correct stencils to replace the tire pressure, bumper numbers and star markings. I am going put in a litter bigger tire on it, but I have no plans to lift it.
Here's a few pics when I got it.

Attachments

Last edited:

67_C-30

The tailgate, the driver's side rocker, and the passenger side fender was the only sheetmetal that wasn't really nice on this one. The tailgate and fender could have been fixed, but I decided to start with nice, straight, rust-free sheet metal instead. I bought a tailgate, and installed a new regulator and new crank assembly. I have a new rocker, and am going to weld it before I paint it. I'm going to have to blast the chrome off of it so I can paint it. I also bought a Banks turbo system (a spare 6.2) for it that I'm going to install as well.

Attachments

Last edited:

67_C-30