• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

n00b questions... looking to get an M1009

smores

Hey guys... I'm new to CUCV's, this forum, and trucks in general. :oops: I have always liked these vehicles... I thought they were cool when I was in the Army and always wanted one. Now that I see that I CAN have one I'm all about getting one - however I want to make sure I know what I'm getting into.

I checked the FAQ's, but have some basic general questions that weren't covered.

First of all - I know these things aren't the best daily drivers. I live in the Metro DC area and commute about 15 miles each way too and from work on a major interstate. My WRX does fine cruising along at 75-80 MPH on a regular basis. I realize these vehicles are UTILITY vehicles and am not looking for a daily driver (at least not for most days ;) ). But, how is the general driveability of these things? I guess this can handle light driving around for fun, up to friends' houses, to/from the gun range, maybe some *LIGHT* offroading. Of course, I know they don't have A/C...

Second - I know (at least I THINK) these things are limited to a speed of 55 MPH, and get an average of about 20 MPG. Is the 55 MPH computer/electronically limited and/or is the gearing/transmission just not set up for higher speeds? If I want to hop on the highway (speed limit of 55 or 65) I would rather have the capability to get up to at least 65 or 70 MPH. :driver: However, if it can only get up to 55 I can deal with it. I just want to know what's possible!