• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Need Help with new to me M37

grimlock97

Hello everyone, i'm new to the forum, but I have been lurking trying to diagnose my M37 for a couple of weeks. I cannot get the beast to start, i'm not necessarily new to mechanicin, but i'm new to the M37, I have 2 Willys, and have restored several 70s model civilian vehicles, but i'm at a loss on this one. It is a 1953 M37 that I picked up a few weeks back just to play with for a while until I get on to restoring it, I have spark, I have air, and I have fuel, It just turns and turns, the original 24v system is still in tact and working, even all the lights work, it just will not run, the carburetor was rebuilt before I got it, but I have taken it off a few times to adjust the float, I have video taped good strong spark at the plugs, the plugs are civilian R45s I think, I will get the original plugs and wires later, but they all spark good, I took the valve covers off today to make sure the lifters were lifting, I've seen that a few times, but they all lift good, so i'm guessing the valves are opening up, whenever I take the carb off the intake manifold usually has a small puddle of fuel in it, I disconnected the metering valve assembly and the fuel poured out, I dried the intake out, put fuel just in the bowl of the carb and still nothing, my plugs don't even seem to be wet, I have checked compression and I have 90# on cylinder 1 and 2 and 130# on the remaining 4 cylinders, I know 1 and 2 need some attention but 90 should be enough to start according to the TM, i'm working alone so I had to video tape the lifters lifting and the sparks sparking, so i'm just lost on this one, it seems like it's flooding but there is no unburnt fuel in the cylinders, I have