• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Negitive ground or positive ground

greg2560

Is the duce a postive ground system or a Negitive ground. Mine is hooked up positive ground. And the guy said that the gen was bad. Humm

greg2560

the truck has a 60 amp gen. Said that the first gen was bad charged wideopen. so put good one on. And told me had short in wireing that i needed to fix. he had the batts hooked up + ground ..Just got the truck this weekend and trying to get it all working. lol it starts hooked up positive ground. I am new to the duce

Every deuce I ever worked on or had was NEGATIVE GROUND. The only positive ground trucks I had were old school Mack, Brockway, trucks and early Diamond T . And they were all civilian trucks.

wreckerman893

Possum Connoisseur
The only positive ground trucks I had were old school Mack, Brockway, trucks and early Diamond T . And they were all civilian trucks.
I had a Freightliner once that was positive ground.....a frigging beotch to put a CB radio in.

Sounds like he was the "shade tree mechanic" from ell.:roll:

I would address that situation immediatly.

3rdmdqm

You got a picture? Are you referring the fact that the batteries run in series and one of the negative cables from one battery goes to the positive terminal of the second battery? Or are you referring to the fact that the positive cable (red) that goes to the starter etc. is benig used as the ground and they are using the negative (black) cable that normally bolts to the frame as the positive?

porkysplace

Steel Soldiers Supporter
What year is it I bid on a studebaker at fort McCoy a couple years ago that was positive ground . They blew the batteries slaving off it.

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator