• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

new early dodge owner please help identify this truck

mvformoe

Hello,
Thank everyone in advance for there time and knowledge.I have wanted an M.V. for a long time and as I know many of you know they just turn up when you arent ready for it at all.So tonight I am going to purchase what I believe to be my first military vehicle.I am a mechanic by trade and have worked with many old trucks so I should be able to follow advice and info just fine.I am posting this before buying the truck tonight,it will be purchased in about 4 hours,I look forward very much to being informed and schooled by those that know.Thank you for your time.Please Help inform me what I have found,my guess with some research put forth would lead me to believe it is some kind of 1\2 ton wc cab and chassis truck from 41.The owner thinks it is a 45 but I dont believe this cab was available in 45 and I believe it has the black out marker lights and there is olive drab on the axles and some wheels.I look forward to your information,and thank you again.

Attachments

Roller

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Yes it appears to be a 1/2 ton dodge but it has duals in the rear. Does it have a single or two speed transfer case?

Frank

mvformoe

The truck is equipped with a single speed transfer case.The frame has a place where it has been cut and then welded back together.Is this possibly an after war farm truck conversion,or is this how dodge made the different wheelbase lengths at the factory?Thanks for replies.

FrankUSMC

That is a Dodge WC-1, closed cab with civi instruments.
Cool thing about 1/2 ton dodges, the rims can be dueled, the WWII combat rims could not be.