• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New from scranton pa

repsher

Hi everyone I'm new to the site. I'm also new to military vehicles. I've rode in a friends m35a2 and loved it and am now interested in buying one. Just a few questions though. How should I register it. My driving would be around town mostly...kids to school and grocery and so on. And then hopefully find someone close by who would go off roading also. I'm also a carpenter so I could use it to haul garbage to dump. My friends is strictly a farm truck so he was no help. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

85 USMC M998

Sounds like you should register it as a regular truck. I had mine that way for years until it became a antique then I registered it as such. In MI antique plates are $30? for 10? Years with the stipulation that the vehicle is not to be used daily; but for parades, car shows and Sunday drives.

barefootin

Welcome from your south... I have mine registered as a regular truck... Keep in mind that at the weight class, registration in PA will be $438.00 a year. I will also caution you that with a class 8 registration in PA (can't answer for other states), you can no longer drop trash off at the landfill or also as in my case local incinerator unless you obtain a DEP license... I was turned away with a load of personal yard debris the last time I went to our drop off site also... This must be something more recent, as I didn't have problems until late summer of 2014 and it is not like I go a lot. Maybe twice a year with household/barn/yard clean up....

jcappeljr

Supporting Vendor
Barefootin,I have roll off dumpster trucks.In Pa.any truck over 17k gvw requires a DEP issued permit to enter landfills.They are a pain in the a$$ to get.

Al Harvey