• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New Guy from Pacific NW

manders

Hello to all!

I've been dancing around for 4+ years waiting to take the plunge and yesterday I finally found my courage!

Now I'm just wondering what the heck I was thinking!!! :razz:

I won a GL auction for a M923. Joyce at Ft. Lewis was incredibly helpful, and gave me some good info about the what condition it's in, e.g., it starts, it runs, it was driven to site about 8 days ago, they can jump it if needed, etc.

That said, I respectfully ask for a bit of guidance as I get ready for the pick-up:

1. Ft. Lewis is about 63 miles from my home, and based on the positive results of a pre-pickup inspection I will be doing on Tuesday, my plan is to "drive" it home.

2. And when I say "drive", what I really mean is ... please please please someone from the site put me in touch with a local and experienced resource who wants to earn a little money for a few hours assistance. :-D

3. And though I'm knee-deep in the various operational and maintenance TM's, I will gladly accept advice for any not-so-obvious things to check and verify before pulling away from the curb.

4. I'd also appreciate a recommendation for a Seattle-area mechanic experienced with this series.

I'm a big fan of Dirty Harry - especially the "a man's gotta know his limitations" quote from Magnum Force - so I'm smart enough to know when I'm about to drift into the deep end of the pool! ;-}

I greatly appreciate any and all assitance and I'm looking forward to joining this great club!

Cheers,

MAnders

wheelspinner

Steel Soldiers Supporter