• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New Guy in Nebraska

gpcpilot

Howdy folks, well I've been a member for a short time and finally got around to posting my newbie thread. I'm a Desert Shield/Storm-era Army vet and my farming partner and I just added our first semi-truck to the farm operation. It is a retired M915A1.

I found the truck with 28K miles, in near pristine condition at a dealer in South Dakota who'd bought 4 of them at auction. This one was the best of the lot and other than a missing brush guard (dealer removed it and I had him put it back on before taking deliver) the truck is near perfect.

Data plate shows it was overhauled by AM General in November 2002 and the interior doesn't even look like it had even been sat in. Impressed with the Big Cam III and Allison automatic, though it'd be really nice if there were a 6th step at the top of the gearing. The dealer painted it flat black (it's paint, not primer) for aesthetics he says. I'd have preferred it OD green, but close inspection showed he didn't cover over anything heinous.

The "General" as we call it, is going to pull grain trailer and spray trailer here in rural SE Nebraska. It is currently out at the paint shop being soda-blasted and repainted in a more civilian friendly color in order to blend in a bit better with the locals. Photos of the final paint job will follow in a couple weeks. For the record, the General drove from Sioux City, SD to Lincoln, NE towing a 30' military flatbed trailer (as a favor to the dealer) with a pickup truck loaded on it, without a hiccup.

Glad to be here and be a part of this unique community! :D

-Tony

Attachments

91W350