• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New Guy

Hello brothers,

I am seriously considering purchase of a Kaiser 1969 M35. I will soon look at the truck I hope. Is there anything special I should look at.
I am retired and this is my first MV
I have been a mechanic for the last three decades but not in this field. I am told that no mods have been made at any time and the current owner says everything is OK. What should I be looking for?
I am a Nam vet, drove tractor trailer pulling mostly munitions. So I am somewhat familiar with the drive train Just looking for advice.

Bob C

clinto

Moderator, wonderful human being & practicing Deuc
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Supporting Vendor
Options and condition.

In terms of options, if you want all the "cool guy" stuff like winches, dropside beds, heaters, etc., it's better off to just buy a truck with all of that versus buying a stripper and adding it.

In terms of condition, there is damage, corrosion and driveability. Good brakes, good oil pressure, no funny noises, quiet transmission and transmission that don't pop out of gear, shift smoothly, etc. A good record of maintenance is a plus but uncommon due to most people's spotty record keeping. All lights working, gauges, etc.

Corrosion is a significant issue to deal with. Cabs rust out in the rocker panels and at the cowl on top. Doors rust out on the bottom and beds can rust out in the cross braces underneath and at the front where it's welded together.

blisters13

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I bought a 1968 M35A2 last year.

The truck was complete, fired right up, came with a bunch of spare parts and materials. I drove it 65 miles home without mechanical failure, and it didn't smoke!