• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New HMMWV owner with questions.

smillysmil

Hey all!

Just won a M1123 at auction. I'm super excited, It's a little rough around the edges but runs and supposedly drives. I just have a couple of questions... or maybe a few. For background, I'm Active Duty and I'm a mechanic as a hobby. So you can say the HMMWV platform is not new to me. Anyway... enough beating around the bush let's get into the questions.

1. I need batteries... and I need them fairly cheap. Not talking about Hawkers, 6TLs, odeysee's, Armasafe, etc. You get the gist. I've been browsing the forums and I'm seeing group 24's and possibly 65's? What is the CCA range to look for? Do they need to be AGM? I plan on possibly doing internal comms and radio (Ham or CB, undecided) but not quite sure about additional lighting. But yeah I need something because I need a way to get the thing off the truck when it gets here.

2. Tires. Where and how? Looks like I might need to start thinking about tires on this one. Is it as simple as just taking to Discount Tire?

3. Obviously it hasn't been released yet. But I'd like to know. How long does the EUC (End-Use Certificate) take for the average user? Ritchie Bros says up to 60 days. But I'd like to know how long it has taken you to get accepted.

I'm sure I'm missing some other questions off the top of my head, but this is a start.

Thank in advance.

Maxjeep1

Steel Soldiers Supporter
O’Rileys 6tl battery I just replaced both batteries and they were 229.00 each and I had to have a core of any battery or size.
Feltz for tires or csm. I just got 4 98% tires and wheels from Feltz and I couldn’t be happier. Tires still had nubs on the tread surface. I don’t know anything about current EUC times

Coug