• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New M1010 CUCV, power steering Q's...

squaretaper

tim.jpg

My fiancee and I just bought our first CUCV- a clean M1010 than had been well cared for by the PO, who had installed a pro WVO setup with 110 gal of additional fuel storage. We'll be converting the box into a camper that can also function as a mobile workshop for me (I'm a welder and fabricator). That being said, I'm new to wrenching on trucks and am trying to figure out a problem with the steering-

The steering has been acting increasingly weird in the few weeks we've had the truck- it will pull to one side, and when turning the wheel to countersteer for that, it's as if I can feel the pump load up for a bit (now holding the wheel off-center to compensate for the tendency to pull one way) then suddenly it will steer the way I'm pulling, over the center, and I'll have to countersteer the opposite way to hold it straight. I end up tacking back and forth in the lane a bit. It's not always like this, but seems to do it especially after a hard turn.

Again, i'm new to wrenching but mechanically inclined and good with wiring and circuits- I'm still aquiring tools specific to the truck. I've got wrenches, sockets, impact, the basics, but am a bit intimidated with big stuff on the truck. You all here are obviously a great resource for these wonderful trucks- thanks in advance for any help and I hope to be able to contribute to the knowledge base as I spend more time working on the M1010.

Josh

Iceman3005