• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New member in Vermont

Jake0147

Hello to all. I'm a little new to this whole MV thing, and I can't figure out why, but somehow I've decided that it might be a good idea to have a deuce (more than I'll ever need) or a five ton truck (bigger is better, but again I don't know why). I'm sure some of you can relate. I hope I'm in the right place, as this is the first place I've found that wasn't all about quarter to three quarter ton stuff.
I'll be looking for an OK looking truck, but not a museum piece. Definately a "user" maybe not 100 percent authentic, but at least reasonably close. I don't intend to butcher it, and I'd like as little butchering as possible on the one that I find. I have plenty of questions, and I look forward to asking them, but for now it seems that there is a wealth of information here to browse through.

Just one thing to get me started- There are lots of designations for different but similar trucks (obviously), and I'm not really up to speed. The general "shape" that I'm looking for in deuce or five ton is pretty much like THIS ONE that was listed on eBay. In particular, the cargo type bed and dropsides is nice, the dual rear wheels, not singles, manual shift, long or short wheelbase, and a winch would be cool but really not a deal maker/breaker. So, is there a system to these numbers to figure out what to search for? What would be a starting point to find a similar looking truck in the five ton size?

DDoyle

Supporting Vendor
Welcome to the group! There is a fellow here (Jeff) who goes by the handle VTdeucedriver or such that has some very nice trucks in VT that he is selling.