• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New to SS

motorman

Gentlemen,

i am new to the world of MV and have taken the plunge.

recently purchased a M1009 with 23,000 miles from GL. checked the fluids first then started, drove and even came with a full tank of fuel. trailered it home swept out all the trash and now the work begins. 4wd works as well as all the lights and gauges. little bit of rust on the passenger side as there was the cable protector holding sand and water so i will cut this out sooner than later.

already changed the oil and did some general cleaning. you can see from the pictures i plan to spend the thanksgiving weekend changing belts, servicing the differentials, new glow plugs, doghead starter relay, glow plug relay, hoses and transfer case too as i want a daily driver for the majority of the year when AC is not necessary. rear window seals shold hopefully from LMC in the next days.

there is 1 mechanical problem then the rest is cosmetic. it starts the first time but if i do not 'catch it' and get the rpm up a little bit then it will die and it will take some feathering of the accelerator pedal and 5+ sec of starting to get it to start. sometimes nothing and i leave it alone but then i can see fuel dripping out from the bottom of the fuel filter.

any advise? do i just switch to a spin on bae and forget about it?

you can see in picture 729 how the dail gate is torn. it appears that something heavy was carried with a load on the metal. there is a similar tear on the other side. has anyone experienced this? did you just weld it and grind it down?

lastly i cannot get the rear seat to come out. after it folds down should it come straight up or what.