• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Newbie Exhaust Question

jesuscowboy

I'm new to deuces but am falling fast; I read several post about how loud a deuce is and the manual and others on here calling for ear plugs. My question what's the deal is there no muffler, length of tubes, or what? Is it possible to have a deuce be super quiet; I am planning on bobbing and heavy modifications so can I make the noise from engine as quite as a V8 or at least a powerstroke diesel.

dc3coyote

UHM...why? why not just get a powerstroke if you want quite.
Napa does sell a muffler though its about 90 bucks
The noise is what made me fall in love with mine

scooter01922

Yup, no muffler at all. Out of the turbo and up the stack pretty much. The earplugs are a really good move unless you think being deaf would be neat...lol. Although i have yet to actually hear a deuce with one installed, i keep reading about how much quieter the truck is with the NAPA muffler mod. As far as quiet goes i'm not sure your looking at the right truck for that goal.......they are just plain loud all around.

OPCOM

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I've driven Sermis' deuce with the NAPA muffler, it was alot quieter, well below the ned for protection. That said, i have driven my own truck throughout the USA and although it's loud, never seemed to have hearing issues. The hardtop stops alot of the racket. Note the quieter the exhaust is made, the more a hundreds of little sounds will be heard.

jesuscowboy

so the NAPA muffler makes it more like a truck motor; I want it quite because some of the areas I would go require "quite" vehicles no open exhaust; glass paks; etc; I just want to make the thing as quite as possible

bottleworks