• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Newbie Here With MEP-016Bs

ETN550

Hi Everyone,

I have been lurking here a while gathering info on the smaller generators. I recently acquired a couple of MEP-016Bs from a GL auction.

Got them home and have been working on checking them over and making them ready for use. I have one running pretty well and can call it a success except that the shutdown solenoid will occasionally jump or stutter causing a slight miss. Seems to be getting less of a problem as it is run so I'm leaving it as is for now. I had to manually hold it retracted to initially start it then it seemed to catch and now it may run for 15 minutes before it stutters once and resumes running. Maybe just dirty contacts in a relay? Now retracts properly when the control switch is put n the run position.

The other one is now running but blowing black smoke. Not a lot but just enough to be visible and soot the concrete a little. Since I'm an ex diesel Engineer I have some ideas but if anyone knows of common problems with this and common fixes let me know. The air filter is clean and I am at 900ft above sea level so it is getting air. There is a lot of noise in the valve cover so maybe the valve adjustment is way off.

So I plan to check:

Valve clearances
Injector leakage and spray pattern
Injection Pump plunger and barrel
Injection pump delivery valve.
Maybe cam or injection timing, if that is even possible to get out of spec.

Don't know what else it could be. Ideas?

What has to be done to get the valve cover off?

I have some electrical questions so will post up another thread for that. I'll take some pics too.:beer:

Doug

Last edited:

ETN550