• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Not starting need help

gvaneck

Alright so I have a 86 m1009 and I went to look at the fuel filter today and when I took it off fuel came out so I put it back on went to start the truck up it didn't start so I remember the guy who sold it to me said that if I twist this little plastic thing it will get all the air out of the filter so I did. But then I look at the line that fuel bleed into and its not connected to anything and I don't no what to connect it to. I'm really frustrated and need some help from someone who knows more than me. Cause I am pretty new at this

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
There is a whole procedure you need to do, to bleed the filter now that you introduced air into the system.

It's easier with a second person. Unplug the pink wire on the top of the IP(injector pump), opened the bleeder on top of the filter and crank until you get a steady stream of fuel. Close it, reconnect the wire, and start it up. Don't crank it until your starter gets overheated.

Next time, look with your eyes, not your hands.

When you get home, download and read all the tech manuals for the CUCV.

Last edited:

Westech

CPL