• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

OD Iron AC install for the AC novice

niferous

First off let me state that I have never ever worked on a vehicle's AC system. I know very little about them. However one of the things I vowed to do with all these old trucks is learn how to work on all aspects of a vehicle. So today as a Christmas present to myself I went and picked up my AC system from mkcoen (Mark). The system is an OD Iron kit and is brand new in the box. Apparently Mark bought it for an M1009 that is now sold so I lucked out and he sold it to me. Just so everyone knows Mark was a good guy to work with and I look forward to working with him again.

First the bad news. As a novice I find the instructions pretty darn vague. I will be typing up this post and I expect it to be very detailed and long as I will be learning as I go. I may mention some stuff that many of you think is just a given but if I'm mentioning it should probably be taken as something that is not a given to a novice. The second problem I noticed right off the bat was the bracket used to hold the compressor. The welds were very messy and nothing was ground down flat. Now I work around machinists and welders and my company is the largest manufacturer of oilfield equipment in the world so my view is probably prejudiced. However looking at this bracket I think I'm going to have one of our welders go over it with a grinder and clean it up a bit. Then I'll just powder coat it. I'm sure none of this effects functionality but for a $1000 system I think it should come with a profesionally assembled bracket.