• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

One service brake won’t release...

ppillard

Hi all. First post here. I’m limping my newly acquired ‘97 M1078 from Michigan to Dallas, TX.
My mechanical background: Back in the day, I was a diesel mechanic on semi’s and construction heavy equipment.

When I inspected her and decided to buy from an individual (in Michigan), she seemed pretty solid and was in service as a log hauler until recently.
An hour into the trip home, the water pump failed. Had her replaced at a local shop.
2 hours into the next attempt, when I got into some traffic, I discovered the service brakes weren’t completely releasing. Furthermore, a temp gun on each drum reveals that the right, rear drum is significantly hotter than the other 3 (260* F vs 200).
I’m about to tear into this RR brake, hoping to find dirt, rust and debris that might inhibit brake release. Can anyone offer any suggestions that might shorten my troubleshooting? I’ve done plenty of work on semi brakes, but these look a bit different.

simp5782

Feo, Fuerte y Formal
Supporting Vendor
Hi all. First post here. I’m limping my newly acquired ‘97 M1078 from Michigan to Dallas, TX.
My mechanical background: Back in the day, I was a diesel mechanic on semi’s and construction heavy equipment.

When I inspected her and decided to buy from an individual (in Michigan), she seemed pretty solid and was in service as a log hauler until recently.
An hour into the trip home, the water pump failed. Had her replaced at a local shop.