• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

One wire alt. Question

JUNKYARDJOHN

I've been doing alot of studying about the cucv electrical system here lately, & have a question for some of you, more electrically inclined individuals than me. (I don't know much about electrical systems & I can prove it) I've been restoring & hotrodding chevy trucks for quite a few years now, & I've always replaced my alternators (when I needed to) by having them rebuilt as one wire alternators. It always seemed to make my electrical systems simpler & cleaner. Do any of you electrical gurus have any reason why this shouldn't be done on these cucvs?? All of these old alternators are going to need rebuilding ,sooner or later & it won't hardly cost anymore. It seems like a simple enough upgrade & after all.. they are just 100 amp, 12 volt alternators.(only one wire going directly to the battery) I realize the right (pass side) alt will need an extra isolated ground wire, but is this a good idea or not.... & why?? Please excuse my ignorance on this subject & enlighten me. THANKS IN ADVANCE... John

jdemaris

I've always replaced my alternators (when I needed to) by having them rebuilt as one wire alternators. It always seemed to make my electrical systems simpler & cleaner. Do any of y
ou electrical gurus have any reason why this shouldn't be done on these cucvs??
The purpose of the standard three-wire hookup to the Delco 12SI alternators is so actual battery voltage can be sensed AT the batteries. A one-wire regulator does not to this and senses voltage AT the alternator instead. That isn't a big deal when batteries are very close. Also, the one-wire regulator takes more RPM to self-excite and start charging.