• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Pisked up a 6.5 today

cedargrove

Picked up a 6.5 today

Hello all,
I'm new to Steel Soldiers but have been lurking for a couple of weeks. I am a 6.2/6.5 diesel owner and love these engines.

I bid on and won what I thought was a 6.2 from GL last week. Picked it up from Ft Bragg today and brought it home. Turns out it's a 6.5. Removed the glow plugs and turned it by hand a couple of times. So far, so good. I have no idea what the history of this engine is but it appears to be pretty much unused. The injector line was off of cylinder 5 and the pump and that's about the only quirky thing I have noticed so far.

I've been watching superburban's posts on ground hopping closely and certainly appreciate the great information. I hope to get my ground hop going in the coming weeks.

My plan is to stuff this into my 84 C10 (old 6.2 getting tired) so I've been reading many good post here about that as well. Thanks for all of the good work that you do!

Lewis

Attachments

Last edited:

ranchhopper

Well it looks as its got a new set of heads a good sign because they crack between the valves one less thing to worry about. Looks like it may be rebuilt the green marks indicate check off points on the list of reassembly things to check.

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter