• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Power source for trailer wiring

Not Alex

Good afternoon ladles and jellyspoons. I'm still very new to my M1008 and I don't really know where anything is in it. I'm looking for a place that I can steal 12 volts from for a cigarette lighter, and the trailer brakes that I'll be using soon.

I planned on taking from the nato plug at the back for the trailer's power but the "K" pin, along with the other 3 in the middle of the plug aren't there. The rest I should be able to figure out myself. I just don't know where under the hood is a good place for getting 12v. It seems that I only get 12 volts from the front battery, since it's only the first in series. Is that my only option, or is there somewhere else that's more appropriate?

Thanks for any help. This truck is what's forcing me to learn electrical things. I've needed to get out of my mechanical comfort zone

M813rc

Steel Soldiers Supporter
For 12v power in the cab, that is only on when the ignition is on, you can plug into either of the sockets in the fuse box indicated by the white arrows.
You'll have to add an in-line fuse as those sockets are not fused.

Someone else will have to advise on getting power to the trailer. ;)

Cheers

Fuse box 4c - Copy.jpg

Not Alex

For 12v power in the cab, that is only on when the ignition is on, you can plug into either of the sockets in the fuse box indicated by the white arrows.
You'll have to add an in-line fuse as those sockets are not fused.

Someone else will have to advise on getting power to the trailer. ;)

Cheers

View attachment 916570
That is super helpful, thank you! That's really convenient to just have those right there.

adf5565

Steel Soldiers Supporter