• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Price Help Mep-018a

BigRix

Ran into a guy who has a Mep-018a for sale. He says it was running a year ago but now has a bad fuel pump. He was planing to convert it to propane. He is asking $500.

I was wondering if its worth me even going to look at it at that price? My searches didn't find much on 018a prices. Hope y'all can help.

Attachments

Isaac-1

I have no direct experience with the MEP-018a, however I will say that there certainly seem to be a lot of people on here and over at the SmokStak generator board that had bad luck with the generator ends on that model. I think there was one guy here that bought 2 or 3 MEP-018a generator ends 'as-is" from units being parted out that had shorted out windings to try to replace the generator end that had shorted out on his otherwise good unit. This may just be bad luck, but given how rare it is you hear about shorted out windings on most other MEP models it may at least be a cause of concern. As to price it sounds fair for an otherwise running unit (assuming you can rig a gravity fed tank to the carb and hear it run), a known non running generator
is worth a lot less than a running one, but be aware these generators are not known for their fuel economy as they were designed in the 1960's when gas was cheap.

Ike

dependable

I bought one on a trailer from GSA a few years ago for $600. It had been sitting but only had 50 hrs since rebuild. I lost interest when I learned how much gasoline they use. Also it is a 3600 rpm unit. One good thing about the MEP-018a is they are apparently pretty easy to convert to natural gas or propane. If you are hooked up to gas, it might make a good standby unit. $500 is cheep for a 10kw unit, if it works.

jbk