• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Probably another start trouble thread

c19dale

Hey guys,
I just took delivery of my 2000 M1123 today. It needs quite a bit of work, but in the description of the auction, it had a video of it starting right up and running. I cannot get it to start today. I am new to Diesels, I run and work on my Ford Raptor so the HMMWV is new to me. Here is what happened. The truck driver rolled it off the trailer in front of my house. I tried to use my golf cart to jump start it because it didnt have batteries. I made sure i disconnected 2 batteries on my cart so i had 24 volts and the glow plug light came on for a few seconds and went off. I tried to start it and the starter jumped, the cables connected to the terminals in the HMMWV sparked and it didn't turn over. I realize this may have been a mistake to try this but i needed to get it out of the street asap. I tried a couple times with no success. I got it in the garage pushing it with the cart, picked up 2 batteries this afternoon, connected them, and now it turns over real strong but wont start and im getting white smoke out of the exhaust while it turns over. It tried to fire once but never started up. Its in the 40's here today, and it came from California so maybe the temp allowed it to start easy there and not here? I have read several threads on starting issues but i thought someone might have some specific insight on my current situation. Thanks!!!!

FKAM

Depending on how long it has been sitting the fuel may have gone bad. Diesel tends to absorb water from the air much faster than regular gasoline. Did you try putting in new diesel fuel?

c19dale

it’s registering 1/4 tank so I’ll get some fresh diesel this weekend